Death Valley Area Hikes

      Death Valley National Park covers a huge portion of Inyo County and extends into the state of Nevada and into San Bernardino County. Elevations in the park range from 282 feet below sea level to over 11,000 feet above sea level. Geographically, the park is located in the transition zone between the northern portion of the Mojave Desert and the Great Basin Region. Due to the extreme elevation range within the park and it's location between two major geographical areas, the biodiversity within the park is extraordinary and as a result there is a tremendous variety of terrain types to enjoy while hiking!
DISCLAIMER: All route descriptions are approximate and hikers should verify the routes on topographic maps. Also many of these routes follow donkey trails. Some of these trails are faint and difficult to find or follow. Additionally, some of these hikes require some off-trail navigation. Hiking in wilderness areas is potentially dangerous and all hikers are advised to carry emergency equipment and to be prepared for possibly dangerous situations.

Argus Range
  1. Rattlesnake/Mohawk Loop
  2. Slate/Water Loop
  3. Reilly/Water Loop
  4. Water Canyon Orchids
  5. Bruce Donkey Loop One
  6. Shepherd Canyon Loop

Funeral Range
  1. Hole in the Wall

Northwest Death Valley
  1. White Mountain Peak
  2. Conglomerate Mesa
Panamint Mountains
  1. Pinto Peak
  2. Wildrose Peak
  3. Telescope Peak
  4. Sentinel Peak
  5. Panamint City
  6. Happy Canyon Loop

Last Chance Range
  1. Last Chance Mountains

Southeast Death Valley
  1. Black Mountains
Slate Range
  1. Quarry Road Playa Route
  2. Quarry Road Mine Route
  3. Isham Canyon West
  4. Isham Canyon East
  5. Fish Canyon
  6. Slate Benchmark
  7. Bundy Canyon
  8. Goldbottom Loop
  9. Copper Queen Canyon

Grapevine Mountains
  1. Grapevine Peak

Cottonwood Mountains
  1. Panamint Dunes
  2. Lemoigne Canyon
Sierra Nevada Range
  1. Deer Mountain Loop
  2. Lost Meadow Loop


Entire site,